top of page

Sun Records Series Premiere Thursday, February 23rd at 10pm on CMT

CMT has slotted a 10 PM Thursday, February 23, premiere for its eight-part limited series based on the musical Million Dollar Quartet and given it a new title. Sun Records will be paired with Nashville to complete the network’s Thursday night lineup.

Inspired by the Tony-winning musical, Sun Records tells the untold story of nothing less than the birth of rock ‘n’ roll. Produced by Leslie Greif and directed by Roland Joffé, the series is a coming-of-age story set in Memphis during the tumultuous early days of the civil rights movement and tells the true story of young musicians Johnny Cash, Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis, who combined the styles of hillbilly country with the 1950s R&B sound and changed the course of music forever. The cast includes Chad Michael Murray, Billy Gardell, Drake Milligan, Kevin Fonteyne, Christian Lees, Jonah Lees, Trevor Donovan, Keir O’Donnell, Jennifer Holland, Margaret Anne Florence and Kerry Holliday.
Sun Records is produced by Thinkfactory Media with Greif as executive producer and Gil Grant as executive producer and showrunner. Barry Berg is co-executive producer, and Herb Nanas and Colin Escott are producers. Jayson Dinsmore and Julia Silverton executive produce for CMT. – by Denise Petski, December 14 2016


bottom of page